1682

William Penn takes ownership of Shady Lane, which at the time was only a large parcel of land.


1774

James Smith, signer of the Declaration of Independence, obtained the land from William Penn's heirs. It is believed that Smith used the land as an investment property to house laborers who worked at the Codorus Furnac


1807

The Hakes purchased the estate and opened a whiskey distillery, which still stands today. Located near Shady Lane and constructed of stone and cedar shakes. The license for the distillery is still visible on the building.


1825

Jacob Hake built the main stone house. The main house now serves as a getting ready space and the backdrop for rose garden ceremonies


1900

Frederick Small, a Yale graduate and York industrialist purchased the 34 acres. Mr. Small owned a mansion in York City and used the estate for his summer home where his family could entertain their vast network of friends. He added the tennis court (the reception tent now sits here), cottage, band stand and many other amenities.


1948

The Oermann's purchased the estate and established a nature preserve, complete with braille trails. Weddings were also held during this time period


2003

Steve & Sue Kohr purchased the property and moved into the estate with their four boys. The estate has been preserved through The Farm and Natural Land Trust. After many restoration projects to revive the estate, the Kohrs re-opened the estate for weddings in 2012.